Middle School Mathematics

I have officially begun my Teacher Assisting semester. In just three days in the classroom, I can honestly say that I have never felt more at home. I’ve wanted to be a teacher my entire life, and it’s amazing to see how confident I am that this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. One of the most important things I’ve taken away from this past week is that my reluctance to teach middle school has diminished. I had always thought that I wanted to teach high school and swore I would never teach middle schoolers. Despite my beliefs, I am honestly starting to love the middle school atmosphere. The students are honest, intelligent, and just coming into their own as self-regulating learners. I think it is absolutely inspiring how influential middle school mathematics teachers are. They bridge the gap between elementary and high school math content and have the opportunity to produce students who love mathematics. This past week in my placement has definitely opened my eyes to what I want to pursue in the future as a teacher. 

Leave a Reply

